#InspireMeSunday · Inspirations · Learning · Mindset · Motivation

#InspireMeSunday – Eamonn Percy

I’ve been attending events and meetings where professionals come and share their knowledge and experience. Eamonn Percy was one of the presenters at a meeting I attended recently.

A month before the meeting where Eamonn presented, the event organizer announced the presenters for next month. When I learnt that it was Eamonn, I immediately thought of my Irish Economics teacher from high school, who found enjoyment in letting the whole class know that calling a girl Eamon is equivalent of calling her John.

Yes, my name is Eimon with an “I” and it can sound similar to Eamon (a typical male Irish name) or Iman (which means faith in Persian). It was my second time meeting someone who is an Irish descendent named Eamon/Eamonn but my first time meeting someone whose name is Eamonn with double “N”.

Eamonn Percy runs his own consulting company helping businesses grow strategically. Among many successful business positions he held in the past include being an Executive at BC (British Columbia) Hydro, being in a general management for Pirelli Cables and Optical Systems Inc  and holding a variety of technical and management roles at Ford Electronics Manufacturing Corporation, Ontario.

Interesting knowledge I learnt from his presentation that I didn’t know or haven’t been paying much attention before  are as followed:

  1. Morris Law (1960) – an observation that the number of transistors in a dense integrated circuit doubles approximately every two years. Some say it means that the computing power doubles every 18 months. This observation is named after Gordon E. Moore, the co-founder of Intel and Fairchild Semiconductor.
  2. “It is not the strongest of the species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change.” — Charles Darwin
  3. The Percy Creed: Eamonn Percy’s mindset-building. The following are my top five among many that I really like.

Think big I will expand my thinking to the biggest opportunity.

Action I will focus on action, action, action – not analysis.

Boldness/Courage Each day I will DO SOMETHING THAT I FEAR.

Dedicated I will do at least ONE TASK EACH DAY that I have been putting off.

Creative I will avoid routine and ruts, and TRY ONE NEW THING DAILY.

My takeaway from his presentation are as followed:

  1. Have a MASSIVE, EMOTIONAL “Why”
  2. AVOID the Status Quo like a plague.
  3. Be IRRATIONAL for the world is irrational.
  4. EMBRACE the pain. Don’t avoid it.
  5. Don’t compete. DOMINATE.
  6. Surround yourself with exceptional people (preferably who are 10 times more excellent than you are)
  7. Develop a SYSTEM for GRADUAL or CONTINUOUS Improvement.
  8. REMEMBER that a small change accumulated over a long time will become a big change.

I particularly like the last point because I tend to aim for big change and get disappointed when I don’t see an immediate result as I can take an action resulting in a small change. I’m glad Eamonn brought up that particular point because he reminded me that aiming and working towards a big change would be like collecting a rain water with a big barrel. I can collect the rain water when it rains. It may be little when I start but as time passes by, I will fill it full.

I am thankful towards Eamonn Percy who honoured the event with his presence sharing his story, experiences and knowledge. If you’d like to learn more about Eamonn Percy, click HERE to check out his website.

May you have a day doing things that truly matter to you!

Love,
EM

2 thoughts on “#InspireMeSunday – Eamonn Percy

Leave a Reply

